The 1998 RISE Scholars

In its third year, the RISE program received over 40 applications from students at ten host universities. The programme was expanded in 1997 to include Professor Ron Steer of the University of Saskatchewan. The nine 1998 RISE scholars are listed below, along with their home universities and the universities at which they took up their awards.

  Athena Bennett
University of Victoria

Electrostatic Effects on the Fluorescence Properties of Conformations of Tryptophan in Dipeptides

with Dr. Art Szabo, University of Windsor

Rohit Bose
University of Saskatchewan


Characterization of the Intermediates from Photolysis of 4-Azidostilbene

with Dr. Bob McClelland, University of Toronto

  Yatson (Sunny) Chu
University of Ottawa

Host/Guest Photochemistry: Calixarenes as Reaction Media

with Dr. Monica Barra, University of Waterloo

Nicole Deschamps
McMaster University

E-mail: deschanm@muss.cis.McMaster.CA

Measurement of Acid Diffusion in Thin Polymer Films Using Laser Flash Photolysis

with Dr. Tito Scaiano, University of Ottawa

  Leslie Fradkin
University of Ottawa

b-Heterolysis of Phenoxy-substituted Radicals

with Dr. Fran Cozens, Dalhousie University

Sandra Rifai
Dalhousie University



with Dr. Glen Loppnow, University of Alberta

  Jennifer Schmeisser
University of Waterloo

The Photochemistry of Arylmethylsilacyclobutanes

with Dr. Willie Leigh, McMaster University

Alison Skelley
University of Alberta


Investigation of the Dynamics of Xanthone and Xanthone Derivatives in Cyclodextrins

with Dr. Cornelia Bohne, University of Victoria

  Nicolas Tétrault
Concordia University

Photochemistry of the Second Excited State of Substituted Azulenes

with Dr. Ron Steer, University of Saskatchewan

Back to: RISE HomePage